Newbie questions

Hi,

I am new to Duplicati. Some questions:

1. can it eMail a report?

2. if so, can it handle smtp servers that use OAuth2 (gmail, yahoo, etc.)?

3. can it run pre and post events (programs of my own authorship)?

4. if so, can data from my scripts/programs be injected into the tape report?

5. is there a post event for reboot and shutdown?

6. can it be set to housekeep and clean out old archives after a certain amount of archives has been reached?

7. Are the archives in a standard format that any file reader can accesses?

Many thanks,
-T

1. Yes.
  2. I am not sure about oauth2, but I have seen other threads about people sending email reports to gmail.
  3. Yes you can run custom pre- or post- processes.
  4. Not sure what you mean. Tape report? You mean email report? I do not know if you can include output from pre- or post- processes in the email report.
  5. Not sure what this means exactly. You want Duplicati to do a reboot/shutdown after the backup is complete?
  6. Yes it has very flexible backup retention options.
  7. Backups use ZIP and AES256 standards but they are not readable by other products. You will need to use Duplicati to restore the data.
  1. I still call them tape reports, although no one uses tapes anymore. I am asking if I can include my data with Dupliati’s reports

2. I want the option to reboot or shutdown after a backup

3. If I can not read the archives with a standard file manager, then it is a deal killer. So you can disregard the about questions.

Thank you for the response!

1. yup can turn on less secure apps in gMail, but the user gets inundated with prompts from Google to turn it back off, so eventually, they break down and do it and you lose your reports. Best to just support OAuth2

Yes, if you want your data backed up in native format, Duplicati is absolutely not for you.