Where are my backup files?

Hello, I’m new here, and therefore, I might not make much sense initially, or be able to understand what you say on the first go 'round.

I installed Duplicati on Ubuntu Mate (I’m also an amateur linux user). I have a router that supports attaching a hard drive, to which I set up a samba connection: smb://WORKGROUP;routeruser@tplinkwifi.net/volume(sda2)

That’s how I connect to it from linux. I created a Duplicati backup targeting: smb://WORKGROUP;routeruser@tplinkwifi.net/volume(sda2)/Duplicati
as the backup location. Duplicati did not complain that I recall.

I ran the backup, it did it’s thing. I restored from the backup to a different location. All looks good.

Except, I looked on my shared drive, in the Duplicati directory - and there are no files.

I tried everything to see the backup files where I expected them to be. They are not there. I finally removed the drive from the router altogether, yet I still able to restore from the backup!!!

Okay, where are my backup files, or how can I find out where they’re supposed to be? I assume they are somewhere on my internal drive, but I haven’t found them yet (searches for *.dblock.zip haven’t come up with anything, but once again, I’m an amateur, and I could be messing up the searches).

I wasn’t able to see anything in the web ui that would tell me the details of my backup - in case I misremembered or mistyped something (this would be great to add, in my opinion).

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Hello @MisterAcoustic, welcome to the forum!

Did you use encryption for your backup job? If so the files might end in .aes so you might be better off doing a search for .dblock..

Could you use the job “Export” -> “As Command line” command and paste your setup in a post (be sure to remove anything personally identifiable or secure such as email address, passwords, etc.)?

Hello JonMikeIV,

Thanks for the reply and the welcome.