Snapshot warning even with root privileges

I’m new to duplicati and i have it installed in a headless Ubuntu server 18.04 box. I have enabled the the advanced option --snapshot-policy=on which means that if Duplicati has a problem creating the snapshots then it will produce a warning. The online documentation indicates that, in order to use this option, duplicati needs root privileges.

According to these posts
Installing Duplicati on Linux (Ubuntu / LinuxLite)
How to give duplicati root permision on ubuntu

in order to start duplicati as a service i need to run the following commands

sudo systemctl start duplicati.service
Sudo systemctl enable duplicati.service

Which i have done. So, my understanding is that duplicati should be running as a service.

However, after i performed my initial backup i got the following waring message:

2021-06-26 09:09:49 -04 - [Warning-Duplicati.Library.Main.Operation.BackupHandler-SnapshotFailed]: Failed to create a snapshot: The external command failed to start. Error message: Duplicati.Library.Interface.UserInformationException: The script returned exit code 255, but 0 was expected: Exit code: 255 Error: unable to determine volume group (VG) for /files/backup/ at Duplicati.Library.Snapshots.LinuxSnapshot+SnapShot.ExecuteCommand (System.String program, System.String commandline, System.Int32 expectedExitCode) [0x000e4] in :0 Command: /usr/lib/duplicati/lvm-scripts/find-volume.sh “/files/backup/”

Can anybody help me start decrypting this message?

It appears that duplicati cannot determine the volume group for /files/backup which is the target folder in an external USB drive.

Besides that, i have no idea how to troubleshoot this warning message.

You are using LVM, correct?

snapshot-policy

On Linux this uses Logical Volume Management (LVM) and requires root privileges.

If you think you have LVM set up (I don’t, so will stay in somewhat generic mode), then