Scheduled backups not starting after wake from sleep

I’m using Duplicati to back up a Windows PC. Duplicati is set up as a service, SYSTEM account, with no tray icon.

The PC typically goes to sleep after idle in the evening. I have the PC set to wake via a scheduled task at 01:56. That seems to be working: I can see the resume in the Windows event log. Then I have my Duplicati backups scheduled for 02:00. However, they don’t seem to start.

When I log on in the morning, and go to the Duplicati UI I can see the backup has just started. The time it shows that it started is immediately after the wake that I generated by wiggling the mouse. There’s no record in the UI or logs of anything happening at 02:00.

So it seems like when the computer wakes with the wake timer, the Duplicati scheduler doesn’t start. When I wake the computer with the mouse much later, the scheduler does start and immediately starts the missed backup.

I’m a bit of a newbie so maybe I have something set up wrong in Duplicati. Or maybe this is an issue? Anyway, any suggestions for diagnostics that might help?

I notice some earlier posts with similar but not identical issues: they suggest I restart the Duplicati Service on wake, as a workaround. I could do that but it seems it might be worth looking into the problem more first.

Windows 10 2004, Duplicati 2.0.5.1_beta_2020-01-18

Just a bit more information - I tried using wake on lan rather than a wake timer and that does seem to work: the Duplicati scheduler starts running immediately after the wake on lan.

So it only seems to be wake from wake timer which isn’t working.

Can you get PC awake with Duplicati paused, but UI visible?

If you use Tray Icon, does it look paused (vertical bars icon)?

Does web UI to right of status show vertical bars or triangle?

Look at Server state properties.in About → System info

If I tell the UI to pause, I “think” that’s like a sleep. Looking then:

estimatedPauseEnd : 0001-01-01T00:00:00