Restore shows Hash mismatch on file but files restored are OK

I did a restore test from backup made on a Samba share. Duplicati runs on docker environment running on Ubuntu 18.04.6.

I am new to Duplicati so doing some testing to validate my setup.

Here the error msg:

• 2022-04-27 12:55:07 -04 - [Error-Duplicati.Library.Main.Operation.RestoreHandler-PatchingFailed]: Failed to patch with remote file: “duplicati-b58aae526f2554bfeb774f7813996cfad.dblock.zip”, message: Hash mismatch on file “/tmp/dup-9d9386f6-ebc1-47e9-855b-21f37480c039”, recorded hash: K3x/yTjpl9qTxZ+zfsd46Wyfzo45e4lU1PVU+p3YY7o=, actual hash o23YMleI4CkuFkF4EfVL2loP+GMLU8FJZy0S3xk1cIo=

What could be reason for this error - note I don’t get any errors while doing the backups.

Thanks
Lars

Welcome to the forum @joker35

Probably on the line that didn’t show (because it was below the one-line summary that was shown).

Try setting up About → Show log → Live → Retry and see if that /tmp/dup* file is a downloaded file.
If you see something that looks like that error message, try clicking on it to see if it will show details.

During restore, files are downloaded. Sometimes they are either bad at destination or by download.
You have an unencrypted .zip file. Can you go to destination to see if the .zip file will open in a tool?

Meaning that’s the destination (not source?). SMB tends to corrupt files. What size is your bad one?
Sometimes they wind up truncated to binary-even sizes. I forget if it checks the file size or hash first.

EDIT:

files restored are OK

Sounds a little suspect, BTW. “Failed to patch” should mean some part of some file didn’t get set up.
You can get better view of the action (including file names) at About → Show log → Live → Verbose.

@ts678,

thanks for your input I will do some more testing and watch out for your suggestions to review details in log as well as checking if zip file can be opened.