Improving Reliability with Large Backup Sets

I’ve been using Duplicati for 2-3 years now. My working data set on my laptop is large (1.5 TB) and I back it up daily to four destinations: 2 x local folders (on external drives) and 2 x self-managed S3 servers running Minio in different off-site locations.

Over the years Duplicati has always had trouble corrupting the local database. I always had the impression, but couldn’t confirm it, that it would happen when the backup task was interrupted (unexpected shutdown, system crash, or forced shutdown).

However, on the latest version (2.0.6.1_beta_2021-05-03) I have found that it will corrupt the database every single time it tries to create the backup whenever the backup is unavailable. For an external drive that means unmounted, and for the S3 servers the computer is offline. The database corruption quickly became a big problem because the repair would fail and the database would have to be recreated. On a number of occasions the recreation would fail and I would have no option but to nuke the backup set and the database and just start over. None of this is really news and the bug reports are full of similar examples.

The reason for my post is to provide some practical advice for how to overcome this issue. What I have discovered recently is that Duplicati already has a feature that can mitigate this issue, and it’s a very elegant and neat solution. What I have done is use the “run-script-before-required” option and point it at a script that checks for the presence of the destination. I have done this on Linux Mint, so the examples below may not work for everyone, but the concept is very sound and I highly recommend it to all Duplicati users that may have experienced similar issues. You can easily write similar scripts for Windows or other clients.