I cannot figure out how to get duplicati to open on my imac

I cannot figure out how to get duplicati to work on my Imac. I installed it I also installed Mono I’ve tried uninstalling and reinstalling. My mac OS is Sonoma 14.4. It seemed to install fine but when I click on it to open it nothing happens. Any help would be appreciated!!

Hi Drew, welcome to the forum!

You can usually find some extra log messages in Console that helps diagnose why it does not want to start up.

Prerequisites

Download the latest Mono version

That’s presumably taken care of then. What about this part (because macOS removed things)?

To use the tray icon, you currently have to install python3 (you can check that by running /usr/bin/python3) and add pyobjc by hand from a terminal:

sudo pip3 install pyobjc

Where in the console would I look for these I’m not really experienced with using the console at all and am not sure what I’m looking for??

What do I type into the terminal to check if it is installed is it this?
/usr/bin/python3

macOS 12.3 release note

Python 2.7 was removed from macOS in this update. Developers should use Python 3 or an alternative language instead. (39795874)

so it’s not likely installed unless you’ve installed it. I don’t have a Mac, but user manual advises:

To use the tray icon, you currently have to install python3 (you can check that by running /usr/bin/python3)

Google search finds some resources such as
How to Install python and pip on Mac | Updated 2023 | Amit Thinks video, but further search has web pages too. Something from 2023 or later might be nice, as macOS removed Python in 2022.

If anyone with a Mac would care to help, feel free. As a side note, I think the next major Duplicati move to .NET 8 should remove some of the difficulty of getting Duplicati up on Linux and macOS.