How to join in the development of Duplicati?

I am a retired software engineer with 36 years of experience. Primarily C/C++ on Linux and Windows. Need any help developing Duplicati? How do I sign up? I can fwd a fairly recent Resume’ if you want it. I am just looking for part time work to keep my mind occupied during the COVID-19 lockdown.

Create an account on Github (if you don’t have one), fork the Duplicati project, and have at it! If you make some changes that you’d like to share, you can create a pull request and the core developers will evaluate for inclusion in the main project.

The Issues section shows the current bugs/feature requests.

Thank you for your interest in helping this project!

Thanks for replying so quickly.

Sure. That’s great. I have an account of github and I will take a look at the code, and setup a development environment. A question (and perhaps it is a stupid one): can I build duplicati on an z86_64 (i7) Win10 laptop? I do not have a Linux workstation.

Is there a ‘project leader’ that understands the current priorities and directions of the project? Or, is there someone who would be able to show me the ropes? Is there a list of simple bugs to fix for a newb to start on?

Thanks again for getting back to me. And, btw, the current state of Duplicati looks really neat - having only a few days of experience with it.

Yes, you can definitely build it on a Windows 10 machine. I personally use Visual Studio 2019 Community edition. It has nice integration with Github. When you start VS you can tell it to clone a repository. Point it to your forked version of the Duplicati project, not the main Duplicati project. (This is because you cannot commit code directly to the main project. You have to commit code to your fork and then you can do a pull request from there.) If you’re new to git then you may want to read some documentation on how it works: branches, pull requests, etc.