First time install, can't start

Hi,

Just started using this. Looks great but I can’t get it to run. We are running on Ubuntu with command line access only. Installed first time but complained about dependencies. I fixed that and re-ran installer (seemed to go through) but now when trying to run I get:

Crash! 
System.Reflection.TargetInvocationException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation. ---> System.Exception: A serious error occurred in Duplicati: System.Exception: Failed to create, open or upgrade the database.
Error message: Access to the path "/home/ieadmin/.config/Duplicati" is denied.

Followed by a lot more output which I could post but I suspect the key to the problem is here. Is it permissions?

Sorry a bit lost as I’m new to this product and only work with Ubuntu occasionally.

Many thanks.

Welcome @Gal,

Looks like an OS permission issue, so first step is to check the permissions on the .config and Duplicati folders. It shoud look something like this:

# ls -la /home/ieadmin | grep .config
drwx------  33 ieadmin ieadmin      37 Feb 17 21:23 .config

and

# ls -la /home/ieadmin/.config | grep Duplicati
drwxrwx---  4 ieadmin ieadmin    5 Mar 22 01:36 Duplicati

Specifically look for the names and the drwx.
If they’re not correct we can fix it by setting ownership:

# sudo chown ieadmin:ieadmin /home/ieadmin/.config
# sudo chown -R ieadmin:ieadmin /home/ieadmin/.config/Duplicati

And then fixing the permissions

# sudo chmod 700 /home/ieadmin/.config
# sudo chmod -R 770 /home/ieadmin/.config/Duplicati

If they appear to be correct, check that Duplicati is running under your user:

# ps aux | grep duplicati
ieadmin     24248  0.0  0.1 432804 20940 ?        SNsl Apr08   0:01 DuplicatiServer /usr/lib/duplicati/Duplicati.Server.exe --webservice-port=8200 --webservice-listen-interface=any

Awesome - that worked. Thank you very much.

Next question (sorry!) should I be able to access the web gui on port 8200? I have this in Terminal: