Deleted a backup version, but it shows same number afterwards

You're running Duplicati with - 2.2.1.0 - 2.2.1.0_beta_2026-03-05
Browser: Vivaldi
8.1.4087.46 (Official Build) (64-bit)
OS: Linux MInt 22.3

First issue:

I deleted the oldest version of a backup, to free up some disk space. I followed the instructions in this post. I used the parameter --version=4 which, if I understand correctly, would delete the oldest of 5 versions.

It appeared to work. It ran about 30 minutes, the log shows no errors.

My concern is that the number of versions shown in the UI has not changed. I started out with 5 versions, and it still says 5 versions. I cleared the browser cache and refreshed the screen several times.

Looking in the folder where the backup is stored, there are only 4 dlist files after the process. I didn’t think to look beforehand, but I presume there were 5 before?

Second issue:

By the way, I tried to upload the log in a txt file, but that’s not allowed. While doing that, I discovered that the “Copy” button on the log screen does not work. It doesn’t react to a mouse click at all, and the clipboard retains whatever was already there.

This value is only correctly updated after a backup operation. The value is written into the Duplicati-server.sqlite database so it can be displayed. If you do other operations, this value is not updated until the next backup runs.

Yes, that sounds correct. Each version corresponds to one dlist file.

That is most likely the 2.2 version. I just tried with the latest UI in Chrome + Safari and it works there.

That explains it, thanks. It does give the impression that the delete didn’t work, though, so it might be valuable to write the new value to the DB when this happens.