Compact without download volumes

Hi there! I’m pretty new with Duplicati, so please excuse me if I say something wrong.

I would like to use Duplicati with AWS Glacier Deep Archive. I took a look at the code, and I understand that for the compaction operation the volumes to be compacted are downloaded from the back end. This leads to wasted time and money using AWS Glacier Deep, as well as the fact that Duplicati probably doesn’t work out-of-the-box with AWS Glacier Deep, because a specific API call is required to initiate the process of retrieving a file (which will then actually be available about 12 hours later).

I was thinking that, in all cases where the files to be included in the new volumes are available on the local device, that it might be more convenient and cost-effective to create the new volumes from there, without then having to re-download the old ones.

Do you think it could be possible? Am I forgetting something?

I don’t think this will work. Remember, Duplicati keeps multiple versions of files. Or more correctly, it keeps blocks from multiple versions of files. It probably doesn’t have much of a chance of using only blocks from the latest version of files during a compaction event.

For AWS Glacier we usually recommend you use unlimited retention, disable testing, and disable compaction.

An alternative that I and others are experimenting with: use AWS to hold only a copy of your Duplicati backup data. All my PCs back up to my NAS, and then the NAS synchronizes with AWS. I use a lifecycle policy on my S3 bucket to transition files to deep archive after so many days. With this approach I don’t have to use unlimited retention, nor do I have to disable testing or compaction. The only time I’ll ever need to read data from my S3 bucket is if my primary backup gets destroyed for some reason.

1 Like