With AWS S3 mounted on Linux files disappear

I have mounted my bucket using the s3fs file system on my Linux host.

From cli I can copy and list files to check that the operations are really happening.

I can also verify on AWS manager console that the files are there.

I tried using Duplicati for a backup, selected “local folder or drive” and the s3fs mounted folder, the backup happened apparently correctly.

I can even do a restore that effectively does restore the files.

The only problem is I DON’T KNOW WHERE THE FILES GO.

They’re not listed in the manager console, they’re not listed from the cli on the local host where the s3fs folder is mounted, I searched on my local file system and they’re not there. So WHERE DID THEY GO?

Have they been written to another bucket that I don’t own?
I have >30 years of computer experience and never seen anything like it!

I checked the duplicati logs but they don’t say where the files are being written to so not much help there.

And before anyone asks, yes I did before all that try to select the backup to S3 method but that consistently gave me a “internal error” message.

I’ve often used duplicati before mostly using the sftp method and I know I should be able to see the created *.zip.aes files on the destination location.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.

OK, found out what happened.
Forgot to say that I was running the docker version and the files were being written inside the container thanks to the twisted way I was mounting the volumes in docker-compose.

My problem now is that with the correct settings the mounted s3fs folder on the host does not show up once the container restarted.
Anyway at least I know where the files were going.

Hello, are you saying the docker bind mount doesn’t work after restarting the container?

Also while I have never used s3fs I have used s3 successfully with Duplicati (as have many others). Would you like to troubleshoot that so you can use the native s3 support in Duplicati?