When does it stop being beta?

I’ve been using Duplicati for a few years now, and it’s great. I’ve had a few occasions where I needed to restore something, and it has been perfect every time. I’ve really come to depend on it.

I’m curious, though, when does it stop being “beta?”

While I agree that for many things it does work very well, there are still a few issues that need to be resolved.

How many issues? There are currently 815 issues listed in the issues section for Duplicati on GitHub (180 of them have a bug label), sure they don’t all need to be resolved but a good many of them do and there are some very decent feature requests in there that could really help the software.

As always, volunteers for the project are in short supply so if you or anyone you know can help the project in any way, it’s appreciated.

Thanks again to all those that have helped to get the project to the point it’s at now.

1 Like

The total GitHub issues backlog is a little misleading. Some are enhancement requests which clearly aren’t done (there is an ample supply of potential enhancements, and a short supply of people – any volunteers?), while others are bugs of varying age (maybe fixed now?) and vagueness (how might one know if it’s fixed?).

One useful technique is to use the Sort selector to sort by Recently updated to see what’s getting notice. Because people who open issues are asked to look for duplicate open and closed ones, sometimes closed ones get posts (and sometimes attention). I generally try a query like below when I want to see new actions. This is basically what Sort choice gives, modified by letting in closed issues. One sees date of last update.

is:issue sort:updated-desc

Labels could possibly be done better. I see lots of things calling themselves feature requests that don’t have the enhancement label, but if one wants to ask anyway, the syntax to add to a query is label:enhancement .