What is the recommended architecture for off-site backup?

Hi, i’m new to Duplicati and want to start backing up mostly for my linux servers (backup of other windows machine on my network would be nice to have).
I have a NAS running OpenMediaVault, and an Ubuntu server 19.4 running multiple docker containers. I want to backup a (system+docker) image for both of them once a month, and do an incremental backup once a week so i can restore the servers in case of failure. In addition i also want to keep my picture folder from my NAS backed up on a 2nd location.

I was thinking of backing up both server images locally to a 2nd NAS, and both images and the pictures folder to a 2nd location.
I got a spare raspberry-pi 3 i can use with a usb mobile HDD as a 2nd location (with the Duplicati docker container for example).
My question is - where should Duplicati be installed in this case, and with what protocols? should it be for example on the local Ubuntu server, using the remote raspberry-pi as an SFTP file server? Maybe the pi should have Duplicati installed and I should use SSH keys to backup the local servers? I’m lost :cold_sweat:

Thanks in advance!
P.S - Upstream is slow via internet here (~5mbps max) if that should be a factor

Note that Duplicati2 is still under development. The latest beta is old, despite its release date. There are several serious issues to resolve before the next beta. So be sure Duplicati is not your primary backup system. It can be a secondary system, so you get used to it before a proper release is published.

That’s fine by me, as a 1TB external HDD will probably let me backup my data more than 4 times over, and docker containers are easy enough to create or destroy as needed.
Though, if its not too much of a hassle, can you recommend a good alternative based on the requirements i’ve specified?