What happens when a user deletes a file from the source directory?

Hello! I’m new to Duplicati and am trying to learn as much as I can about how it works before I start using it. I’m curious how Duplicati behaves when a user deletes a file from the source directory. What impact does this have on the destination directory and a possible future restore operation?

For example, let’s say that Duplicati is set to perform a daily backup on a source directory containing photos and a user accidentally deletes a photo from that directory unknowingly. I’m curious:

1. What does Duplicati do during the next backup cycle and how is the remote backup content affected?
  2. How does this behavior differ with different retention strategy settings for Duplicati?
  3. How does this impact a possible future restore action?

Context: This scenario describes my intended use case - family photos that a user may accidentally delete and not realize until days have past.

Thank you!

It depends on what retention strategy you’ve set up.

• When your strategy is to keep all versions of your backup history you can easily restore the deleted files even weeks, months or years after you’ve deleted them.
  • When you’ve set up duplicati to keep a fixed number of backups the oldest ones get deleted every time a new backup is stored. Let’s say you store a backup of your photos directory every day and you’ve configured duplicati to always keep 10 versions. In that case (assuming you’re storing the new backup every day and none is skipped) after ten days the oldest backup will get deleted. So if you realize that someone deleted a file eleven days ago in this scenario it’s too late to restore it.
  • Instead of defining a fixed number of backups you can also set a period of time after which old versions of your backup will be deleted.