Warning messages are unhelpful

I’m largely happy with Duplicati and appreciate the hard work that has gone into this project, but the warning features is truly mystifying. I’ve been using it for several months now and every once in a while I’ll see a red X on the system tray informing me of a “warning”. The first message is a bright red banner letting you know simply that a “warning” was received. If you click on ‘Show’, you’re sent to the log file but it’s not exactly clear which one of the dozens of entries is the pertinent one. Presumably the latest one should be the one of interest but clicking that gives you an absurdly long system message which is largely incomprehensible to me (and I assume to the general user). Even if you’re persistent and you drill down to any mentions of the word “warning”, I often see just the following:
Warnings: [ ]
Which presumably means there was no warning?? It’s incredibly confusing.

The UI is designed in such a way to grab the user’s attention by using bright red and the word “Warning”. Additionally, you HAVE to address the warning or else the notification icon will remain red. But digging down into the warning gives you either no information or way too many presumably routine system messages.

In short, the UI essentially screams at the user to pay attention and do something, but then either does not provide the pertinent information or nothing of note actually happens.

I’ve been able to deduce that the warning is most often a connection timeout, but again I can’t be sure definitively. My suggestion would be to get rid of this as a “warning” unless the connection error and timeout persists after repeated attempts. Aside from that, a clear categorization of what KIND of warning should be readily available as the first message you see. Bright red indicates danger and that can mean anything from “your entire history of backups has been irrecoverably corrupted” to “your internet was down for a second”.

3 Likes