Upload to Backblaze B2 - Compression, Speed, tips

Hi guys,

I decided to finally consider doing a backup of my photos (mainly). I use 3-2-1 strategy (copy on hard drive + cloud copy).

I’m not an expert nor a developper but I like to learn new stuffs and I just like to use complex solutions so I can pretend to myself that I’m some kind of genius (yes I know).

Anyway I decided to pick Duplicati as it’s probably the only that I found on Youtube with some step by steps explanation + it’s free so I can’t really go wrong.

I used the CommandLine on Windows 10.
Here is my command (don’t worry, I hid sensitive infos):

Duplicati.Commandline.exe backup “b2://mybucket/Photos” “E:\Photos” --b2-accountid=“myID” --b2-applicationkey=“myKey” --send-mail-to=“myemail” --send-mail-from=“myemail” --send-mail-subject=“Backblaze - Duplicati %OPERATIONNAME% Report” --send-mail-body=“%RESULT%” --send-mail-url=“smtp.office365.com:587” --send-mail-username=“myemail” --send-mail-password=“myPwd” --send-mail-level=“Success, Warning, Error” --passphrase=“mySuperSecretePassphrase”
PAUSE

I uploaded during sunday. As you can notice, there is no compression at all. This is something I didn’t fully understand so I didn’t add any settings. Would I gain a lot of space compressing ? If so, what do I need to add in my command ?

Also, how should I use dblock-size ? My photos are in RAW formats so it’s like 24mb files. Is it relevant ? Should I leave it to default ?

I’m sorry if you consider I’m asking too much. Feel free to let me know what I can do to improve speed, space or anything else.

thanks in advance

Hello,

You didn’t actually disable compression, so Duplicati defaults to compression being enabled. It may try to compress (depending on file extension). For image files Duplicati will either not attempt compression or if it does it won’t achieve any savings.

Duplicati will perform deduplication (it is not possible to turn it off), but for image data it won’t save you much.