SFTP connection issue to Pi4 (Solved)

Hi,

I’m pretty new to Linux backups servers and what not but am enjoying this journey on learning new things and keeping my data safe! So I’ll layout what I have set up and trying to do and see if anyone can help me figure out the problem as I’m to the point where I don’t know what to google to find the solution.

Building a truenas scale server, but it is not done so I’m testing my connections and backup method from windows now so its not a problem later.

• Running Win11 PC at home with Duplicati installed
  • Pi4 running dietpi with usb ssd attached for the storage target at parent house
  • connection is being secured through tailscale
  • attempting to back up a small folder of documents so its quick

So I can connect to the Pi4 with PuTTY or Powershell with ssh with no issues and even when setting up my Duplicati backup I get a good connection and can get it to run the back up but it fails every time and when looking at the log it spits out I’m just at a loss with my current knowledge lol. I’ll post below what it is spitting out cause it looks like some permission issue but I’m just not sure what and where too look at. Thanks.

• Mar 29, 2024 8:51 AM: Failed while executing “Backup” with id: 1
    System.AggregateException: One or more errors occurred. —> System.AggregateException: Permission denied —> Renci.SshNet.Common.SftpPermissionDeniedException: Permission denied