Run-script-before on Debian

I’m a relative novice but have read the various forums and I cannot find a way to run a script that uses the ‘run-script-before’ and a script after backup. Before my weekly backup of Debian I’m looking to stop Home Assistant running within VirtualBox and then restart it once the backup is completed but the error keeps saying ‘file not found’. My script is executable and I can run it locally on my Debian system or remotely via SSH

Script - /home/simon/‘VirtualBox VMs’/Home_Assistant/./homeassistant.stop

#! /bin/bash
VBoxManage controlvm “Home_Assistant” poweroff --type headless

Error:

• 2022-11-21 20:04:52 +00 - [Warning-Duplicati.Library.Modules.Builtin.RunScript-ScriptExecuteError]: Error while executing script “/home/simon/‘VirtualBox VMs’/Home_Assistant/./homeassistant.stop”: ApplicationName=‘/home/simon/‘VirtualBox VMs’/Home_Assistant/./homeassistant.stop’, CommandLine=‘’, CurrentDirectory=‘’, Native error= Cannot find the specified file

I’ve moved the executable script to another folder without a space in as well to rule this out but still the same error. I’m sure this must be a simple formatting error so any guidance/assistance greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Hello

no specific idea, but did you try to canonicalize the script name, that is, remove the relative part in it like from:

/home/simon/‘VirtualBox VMs’/Home_Assistant/./homeassistant.stop

to

/home/simon/‘VirtualBox VMs’/Home_Assistant/homeassistant.stop

maybe there is a problem with that ? it is not an usual way to give a path.

Welcome to the forum @SiMoore

Did you then drop the single quotes? Are those there just to help the shell, so not in folder name?
They seem to have made it into the warning message. How exactly was that message obtained?

The script references are a little confusing. Is Duplicati backup itself being run from script or GUI?
If GUI, don’t quote (e.g. on Options screen) as you normally might for a shell. Give the actual path.