Remove files after upload

Hello!
I’m a complete newbie in Duplicati, I just installed it on my OMV.
I would love to have the following setup: my NAS downloads the files I need from the internet (using JDownloader, NZBget or whatever), processes it (unpacks, cleans, things like that) and throws into the “complete” directory. Then Duplicati picks up those ready-to-eat files and uploads them to my Google Drive. After it does that successfully, it removes the uploaded files, leaving space for new downloads.

1. Is it possible? How to achieve that? Is Duplicati a right tool for my job?
  2. If so, how should I set up my backups? Can I make one backup, name it “downloaded things” and let Duplicati incrementally upload any new files, making one giant backup? Would I be able to download only a few files from this backup easily?
    Thank you in advance for your help, good people. :slight_smile:

Hello @anonymous, welcome to the forum!

1. Theoretically, you could use a --run-script-after parameter to generate a list of files added during the backup and delete those files from the source, but there’s no built in feature to do this.

So chances are Duplicati is not the right to for what you want to do.

2. Yes, one giant backup would be created, but with caveats listed below that I think will underscore why Duplicati isn’t the best tool for what you want to do. On the plus side, yes - you would be about to restore just a few files (though ease is often in the eye of the beholder). :slight_smile:

Perhaps if you flesh out you whole usage scenario some other users might have suggestions on more appropriate tools.

I’m guessing from here on as to what you might be wanting to do with Duplicati, so please forgive me if I’m incorrect…