Recommended Way to Backup to Synology NAS

Disclaimer: I’m new to Duplicati!
I would like to use my Synology NAS at home as a backup target for my Linux Notebook.
What is the recommended way to achieve this?

NB: The NAS is only reachable from home.

Thanks for any suggestions

1 Like

Hi @FreeMinded, welcome to the forum and thanks for using Duplicati!

The forum search tool returns more than 40 posts that mention Synology (Search results for 'Synology' - Duplicati) but this might be a good place to start:

And you might want to check this recent one out to hopefully avoid a potential future headache:

@JonMikelV, i don’t think he’s looking for an installation ON the NAS…

@FreeMinded - The “normal” way would be just to install the package for your linux-distro (found here Duplicati) and add a new job.
For the target you just choose either a (dedicated) directory on you synology that you’ve mounted on your laptop (choose local directory or drive) or via ssh (chosse via ssh).
If you chosse ssh don’t forget to enable it on DSM though :slight_smile:
Local drive or ssh is just up to your liking - in my opinion it makes no difference at home…

The “all backup jobs gone” mentioned above shouldn’t bother you, as this is only a thing if you install duplicati on the NAS (which you don’t, as i read your post).

1 Like

@cpo Thanks! Yes, I’m looking at a way to backup to the Synology NAS.
I will try the ssh or SFTP Option, as mounting shares is a bit of a pain if they are not always available.

@JonMikelV I had searched the forum before posting. :slight_smile:

Sorry for the wrong advice @FreeMinded, it looks like @cpo has you covered with the right way to go. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thank you @cpo for you answer.

On Windows you can both map a remote NAS folder to a local drive letter, or access it directly (in my case, \SYNOLOGY-NAS\ entered as a normal directory path). From what I read around, I believe it uses Samba as protocol.