Problems restoring with Duplicati on Windows 10

Hi, I’m new to Duplicati, but am having problems. _ have just installed Duplicati - 2.0.2.1_beta_2017-08-01 on Windows 10 Home x64 and am backup up some sample files to a Ubuntu PC on the local network using SFTP Protocol. The backups go fine and I can see the backed up files when I go to perform a Restore, The files get restored properly, but the progress bar never fills up, it just sits there saying “Downloading Files…”

Any suggestions?

Patience? I experienced this myself with an SFTP restore just today. The files I wanted restored showed up very quickly even though the restore status bar showed “fetching blocks” or “downloading files” for quite a while afterwards.

Eventually the restore “finished” and I got donation request message with a “Done” button.

I haven’t tested yet but my GUESS is Duplicati may be pre-allocating space to make sure there’s room for the full restore so it may only SEEM like the restore is done just because the files (with sizes) seem there.

Hm… interesting advice, the file I was restoring was a 94Kb document, and I have it a good 5mins to restore it on a gigabit LAN.

How long should I expect to have to wait? Is it this way when using protocols othe the. SFTP?

I’m not sure.

I re-did my test on an SFTP backup (296MB backup from a 728MB source with subfolders restored to a custom location drive root with “Restore read/write permissions” enabled) and what I experienced was:

• "Starting … (4 seconds)
  • “Scanning existing files …” (11 seconds)
  • “Scanning for local blocks …” (15 seconds - files appear to have already been restored??? Is it just copying the locally found source because it hasn’t changed since the last backup?)
  • “Downloading files …” (350 seconds)
  • “Verifying restored files …” (18 seconds)

Total restore time ~7 min. (mostly spend downloading files).

I’ll see if I can set up another test where the source files are no longer available…