Newbie: What is the most cost effective way to backup 12+ terabytes windows folder of data daily to AWS Deep Archive?

Hi Folks,

I am new to Duplicati. I have a file server running windows standard 2022. If at all possible, I would love to use Duplicati to incrementally backup a specific folder on my F: Drive to AWS Deep Archive on a daily basis. I understand the initial backup can be a full backup and all subsequent backups would be incremental. Also, I do not anticipate needing to retrieve data from deep storage (possibly for years) as it is only for safekeeping in case of an emergency.

I have not purchased AWS storage as yet but I can do as soon as I can be sure the above is indeed possible. I assume this is not an uncommon thing to do. However, unfortunately I am not finding a clear cut set of instructions to backup incrementally to AWS Deep Archive.

BTW: I currently practice the backup operation above using LTO7 tapes using a different backup software. My current cost for tapes is less than $120 per year on the average. So, I’m hoping I can replicate a similar scheme using Duplicati and AWS Deep Archive.

I appreciate any advice.

Thanks!

-sul.

You won’t beat $120/year. I just looked at AWS pricing and the cost for deep archive is $0.00099/GB/month. For 12TiB this would be $12.16/month, or about $146/year. This doesn’t even include the transaction costs associated with S3, not to mention restore (retrieval) costs which are relatively high for this tier storage.

Besides the cost, there are complications and challenges when using Duplicati with archive tiers that are not “online.”

drwtsn32,

thank you for your honest feedback. I can certainly live with the higher costs since I would potentially do away with some labor like physical management of tapes and maintenance of on-premise tape hardware. However, I think Duplicati’s challenges with archive tiers could be a deal breaker.