Mysql backup using Duplicati

Hello

I would like to backup mysql database through Duplicati, so i searched here and from what i understand the correct way will be to run a script to make a dump, before the task of backup the dump. Am I correct?

So, Im not an advanced user and honestly i dont understand what i have to do to make it work. Is it possible for someone to explain the correct steps and provide a script to make it work? I run Windows, so i assume it will be a bat file.

Thanks in advance.

I would start by getting a good understanding of MySQL and how to do dumps. You should test this and do test restores even before you get Duplicati involved:

https://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.7/en/using-mysqldump.html

Once you are confident the dumps are working and you have them scheduled, it is then trivial to set up Duplicati to back up your dump folder.

There may be a MySQL expert that can help provide further guidance.

Good luck and welcome to the forum!

I have some knowledge of mysql, i just made a bat script and it works if i run it, it dumps the database into a folder, just as i want.
But i am not able to make this bat work through Duplicati, in the advanced options i put --run-script-before=C:\mysql.bat , when i run the task it shows the following error: [Warning-Duplicati. Library.Modules.Builtin.RunScript-ScriptExecuteError]: Error while executing script “C:\mysql.bat”: The system was unable to locate the file specified.

I don’t know what im doing wrong.

Can you post the contents of your batch file?

Hi,

The content is:

@ECHO
mysqldump -uroot -hlocalhost -pxxx database1 > C:\backup_mysql\database1_%DATE%.sql
EXIT

It just works when i execute, dump database on location.

Can you put a fully qualified path for mysqldump? Maybe the user that Duplicati runs as doesn’t have the same search path as you.

If there are spaces you should put quotes around it. Something like this:

"C:\Path To MySQL\mysqldump.exe" -uroot -hlocalhost ........