Migrating from Crashplan - Retention & other general questions

Sorry in advance for the lengthy post but just want to make sure I’m setting the software up correctly for what I want it to do.

Background: I’m a Photographer and am migrating from Crashplan as they have changed maximum retention times for deleted files to a max of 90 days. I have Duplicati installed on a server running Win Server 2012 R2. Am using Backblaze B2 for remote cloud storage with Duplicati (also use Windows default backup tool for locals to external drives that I swap out etc). All my work files live on the server.

I have one master “editing queue” folder where I import all new images to work on & edit them. Once work is completed the raw image files and rejects (large size, can be 60/70gb for a wedding) are deleted and just the finished jpegs are kept (generally 5/6gb).

Currently (until the policy changed) I had Crashplan set to keep the most up to date version of deleted files for 1 year for this folder. Am I right in thinking that the Duplicati Smart Backup Retention option should do basically the same? If not what retention policy would keep the latest version for 1yr after deletion from my local files?

Secondly, I have an “Archive” where I move the finished jpegs too. I had Crashplan set to keep the most recent file version for this folder indefinitely even if deleted locally. I have not had to delete locally yet but as space on my server is becoming a premium I may start deleting older jobs/file but would like these to remain indefinitely in the cloud backup. I have Duplicati to set to “Keep a specific number of backups” and the number is 1. Again am I right in thinking this will keep the most recent version of a file indefinitely.

Note on both the above I’m not too fussed on versioning; files would rarely if ever change

Lastly, is there any way of getting a notification emailed or otherwise if a backup job fails, or do I just have to keep an eye on it myself?