How to get Debian Duplicati Tray Icon?

Hello! Just got Duplicati and I am super happy with how simple this was to start using. The ONLY issue I am having is that I don’t see a tray icon and don’t see how to get it to work. I am following the guide on the website and don’t see instructions for Linux. Any help would be much appreciated but I am very new to duplicati and linux so please bear with me. Thanks!

Welcome to the forum @walrusbarretterura

Instructions are kind of scattered, and I guess Windows got Configuring the Duplicati Tray Icon in Windows but Linux didn’t get specifics. The general plan is similar though. Here are some other places that describe.

The TrayIcon package
Duplicati.GUI.TrayIcon.exe
Installing Duplicati on Linux (Ubuntu / LinuxLite)

Note that on Linux, you get to Duplicati.GUI.TrayIcon.exe through the /usr/bin/duplicati script. I’m not certain how to launch at login, which is actually the usual Windows way, where a service is hard to setup whereas on Linux the service is the default and the TrayIcon (which includes the server, unless told not to) is harder.

While learning Linux, I suppose you could search for recommended ways to start things at a user login.
I know one answer for Windows, which I think has the same design style that things that start at startup generally don’t get to put things on the user desktop the way things that start as the user are able to do.

To sample a user-started TrayIcon, try typing duplicati --no-hosted-server into a terminal window.
If that can’t find your systemctl service, then maybe add the --hosturl. If that then works, then search for what user-friendly facilities your particular Linux distro has to start programs at login. If all else fails, you should have some low-level means from the configuration files for whatever your shell is (maybe bash).

What Linux distribution and version are you using? And what window manager (Gnome, KDE, etc)? Some handle tray icons, some do not.