Folder names w/ "Umlaute": GUI accepts, command line not

Hi all,

please be kind w/ me, I am not a techie only someone who is brave enough to try IT stuff. :wink:

I am using folder names with German “Umlaute” e.g. “ö”, “ü”, etc.
While running a job via the GUI everything runs smoothely (backup & restore).

The same job (exported from the GUI as described in the manual) to backup onto an external SSD via the Duplicati.CommandLine.exe runs into the message “can not find source path” and skips the job.
While prompting to start this job, the command line shows e.g “F:/Jxxxxrgen” w/ the 4 “x” being cryptic characters instead of “F:/Jürgen”.
Other jobs w/o “Umlaute” are running perfectly via the command line. Interestingly they have some sub-folders and file names using these “Umlaute” as well.

Is there any solution which I can use except to rename all respective folders?
Am I right that it has perhaps something to do w/ the old DOS world in which “Umlaute” were somehow “forbidden”?

Thank you in advance for any hint on this!

Best,

Jörn

Welcome to the forum @BIBOKoeln

I had hoped someone who uses such characters would reply with ideas. The theory I have would only turn your character into 2 cryptic ones, and you got 4… Possibly posting them would help somebody?

What’s doing such prompting? I’m not aware of that being a built-in Duplicati thing. Is a script doing it? Further, what’s doing the displaying? Is this in a Command Prompt, a.k.a. cmd.exe, or something else?

Regardless, it seems odd if you’re saying there’s only one job with Umlaute issues. Is this the only one where an Umlaute is in the top-level folder? I know you spoke of others with Umlaute in the subfolders.

Hi @ts678,

thank you for asking.

“Prompting”:
I start a *.bat file via cmd.exe.
While executing the *.bat, it changes the “ö” into “Ͱ” and runs into a problem.

This is the content of the *.bat file: