Feedback from a new user - mainly Windows use

I’m old to computers, but new to Duplicati. I came over here when Crashplan got its end of life warning.

I am going to use this thread to feedback my experiences of using Duplicati.

Generally I am coming to the forum, reading the FAQ and searching for my issues. This is showing up a few holes in the documentation that I would like to be able to help to fill.

I used to be a developer back in the day, but now I am a small IT engineer looking after home PCs and small business (usually below five people). My backups are generally Windows based using OneDrive, Network Shares and USB drives.

OneDrive Backups - nice and simple
Funnily enough, my first comment is about how well that OneDrive backup works. That one was the easiest to setup. :smiley: Overall it has been almost comical as to how fast it is to setup Duplicati. So all is good in the majority.

Text format of a Windows Network Path
When backing up to a Windows Network Folder can some different text formatting be allowed for when entering a path. Windows paths are more usually \\Computer\Share\Folder\ so it is pretty confusing and unnatural to need to enter Computer/Share/Folder/

Yes, I understand the *nix roots in all of this, but a bit of text processing will save some confused heads.

Edit: Need to add to this. It was the lack of error messages that caused the above confusion. Running as a service Duplicati cannot access the network. But instead of saying that in an error message I thought it was complaining about the path being wrong… so I ended up with a local relative path in error and Duplicati happily backed up to the Program Files folder instead (!!)

1 Like

Backup to LAN

I have a strange problem on a new install. New Win10 Pro PC - fresh install of Windows, no Office.

Looks like the Visual Studio 2017 package was missing from the install - and this is way to cryptic to track down.