Duplicati ransomware protection

Hello, I explain my situation. I am a system administrator in a small office, currently I make my backup copies (Most of the virtual machines) with duplicati to a hard disk that I have outside the office through ssh.

My question is: Are those copies protected from a possible ransomware attack? The other day a salesperson called me to offer me backups in the cloud and he told me that only in the cloud are they protected, but it has always been good for me as I am doing now. What is your opinion?

Hello and welcome!

I’m going to assume you are talking about the back end data - the files Duplicati places on your destination storage.

These files could be affected by ransomware. It all depends on how “easy” it is for ransomware to discover it, and the permissions the ransomware has to the files.

Consider a USB drive attached directly to your computer. You get hit with ransomware and it will most likely scan all your local disks to try and encrypt files. Ransomware also likes to scan the network for shares.

If your destination disk is only accessible through SSH, then I think you are pretty well protected. For ransomware to affect that disk, it would have to discover a lot of information: server, path, credentials, etc. Theoretically if some ransomware was released that was Duplicati-aware, it could potentially collect that information from the database. Seems far fetched but I guess it is possible.

This is a bit deceptive. The only types of storage that are immune to ransomware are ones that restrict changing/deleting existing files. You can accomplish that in multiple ways, not just with cloud storage.

1 Like