Duplicati environment variable security

Hi,
I’m new to Duplicati, and this forum, so pardon me if there’s a better way to post this, but…
I am evaluating Duplicati as my backup solution after losing CrashPlan, and I like the backup functionality, but I am looking to try to improve the reporting (email) capability, so I started experimenting with a post-run script, and in that script I dumped the contents of the DUPLICATI environment variables to a text file. I was shocked to find, not only the backup Passphrase in plain text, but also the password to my email account, via the send-mail-password variable! Worse, these settings are (momentarily) stored in a file, in plain text, in the temp folder. This seems to be a very significant security risk. If I were rogue, it seems that it would not take much to develop an app to monitor the temp folder and grab the contents of the file when it appears. Am I missing something here, or is this a legitimate concern?

Thanks.

[EDIT] - My apologies, the file in the temp folder does not contain the passwords - only the environment variables. Even so, a rogue process could do a memory dump and discover these plain text passwords!

@rkobriger,
While I think you’re bringing up an important topic, it really needs its own topic. Put it here is a bit of thread highjacking.

Hello @rkobriger, welcome to the forum!

I agree with hydrian that your ideas deserve their own topic so I have moved them over here, happy discussing! :smiley:

If you have some infection that has full system access (able to read files, and dump memory) it is generally game over.

I wrote a bit about the problem here:

It sounds like Duplicati isn’t doing proper sensitive data protection. Client passwords are a big one since Duplicati talks to many 3rd party services. Good memory storage practices for credential data:

Client Credentials

1. At process start, code generates key for symmetric encryption