Deleted file missing from backup

Hi, I am new to Duplicati and I have been using Duplicati for a couple of days. I configured Duplicati using GUI on Windows and scheduled the backup running every half an hour 7 days a week. As I checked the backup log, it has been working well with no issue every half an hour.

However, I noted from the Restore that there are only 2 versions of file backup. Should Duplicati create 48 versions a day if it runs every half an hour?

I performed a test by creating copy of a document file in the backup location and allow the backup run the day before. After the backup ran successfully, I deleted the document file and let the backup run again. My goal is to recover the deleted document file from Restore. As I checked Retore, the deleted document files are not there. Please let me know what I did wrong in the configuration?

Below is the command lines of my configuration:
“C:\Program Files\Duplicati 2\Duplicati.CommandLine.exe” backup “file://D:\Duplicati Backup?auth-username=xxxxxxx” “C:\Users\xxxxxx\BackupTest\” --backup-name=“BackupTest” --dbpath=“C:\Users\xxxxxx\AppData\Local\Duplicati\WPGOINHNKU.sqlite” --encryption-module=aes --compression-module=zip --dblock-size=50mb --retention-policy=“1W:1D,4W:1W,12M:1M” --disable-module=console-password-input --include="*"

Your help would be much appreciated.

Hello and welcome!

Depends on your retention settings.

--retention-policy=“1W:1D,4W:1W,12M:1M”

The first part of this policy says:

1. for the first week keep only 1 backup per day
  2. beyond that for the first weeks keep only one backup per week
  3. beyond that for the first 12 months keep only one backup per month
  4. then beyond that delete all backups

If you would like Duplicati to keep all backups that first week (the ones made every half hour), then you could change your backup policy to:

1W:U,4W:1W,12M:1M

Which means to keep an “unlimited” number of backups (eg, all of them) that first week.