Compare Report after backup

I’m new to Duplicati but I’m enjoying it so far.

One thing I’d like to do though is have a log file generated after every backup with something along the lines of the compare command (on a Windows machine).

I’m guessing it would need to compare set 0 and 1 with the option of --full-result but I don’t know how to do it.

Is there anything built into Duplicati for this? I can see report options for mail, http and xmpp, but I just want a simple timestamped .log file with the result of the compare command.

Is this possible? I’ve looked at the script for after a backup, but would my .bat(?) file need to have all my unencrypted passwords in it or is there a better way?

Welcome to the forum!

You are right, you can use the COMPARE command to generate a list of all file differences between two backup snapshots.

I would use the --run-script-after option and point it to a batch file. The batch file does not need to contain your encryption passphrase or your credentials to the back end as the comparison is done using the local database only.

Here’s a Windows batch file that might help you get started:

if not "%DUPLICATI__OPERATIONNAME%" == "Backup" exit 0

pushd %~dp0
"C:\Program Files\Duplicati 2\Duplicati.CommandLine.exe" compare file://blah 1 --dbpath="%DUPLICATI__dbpath%" --full-result > "%DUPLICATI__backup_name%.log"
popd

You can leave the storage-url set to file://blah - it’s not actually used by the compare command, but it is still a required parameter.

It will save a backupname.log file in the same location as the batch file. You could add a timestamp to the log filename without too much trouble if you wanted to keep each log instead of overwriting each time. (But you’d want to clean them out regularly so they don’t build up…)

It won’t email the log though. I don’t think there’s a way to have Duplicati include file attachments in its email notifications.