Beginners Instructions for Hyperv Backups

Hi All.

I’m new to Duplicati, apologies if im missing something obvious.

I’m trying to backup Hyper-V VMs using Duplicati.

I understand the problems mentioned in other posts meaning that the whole VM hard disk will be backed up each time. I can live with that.

However I cannot find any instructions how to create the backup.
I can see some mentions in the forum about people being asked to copy dlls around etc… but now how i create the backup?

In the Web UI I can only see folder backup options. I can see mentions of hyper-v on the command line tool - But nothing I’ve tried seems to work. It feels like I’m missing something obvious.

Thanks for any help anyone can offer.

Hi @sparky, welcome to the forum!

Are you looking to back up actively running VMs?

Thanks for the welcome.
Excited to have found Duplicati. I need a hyper-v solution quite quickly. :slight_smile:

Yes. Approx 6 currently running VM’s. Given the size (300Gb will back up to a local share).

Just discovered that I need to run Duplicati as Administrator (Seems obvious now) to see Hyper-V as an option.

Was a daft question after all.

Thanks.

For anyone else reading this I did the following to get a hyper-v backup working.

1.) Install Duplicati on hyper V Host
2.) Ctop Duplicati from the tray icon.
3.) Copy the contents of AlphaVSS folder overwriting files (C:\Program Files\Duplicati 2)
4.) Install the Visual C++ Runtime (Its under “Other Tools and Frameworks” at Download Visual Studio Tools - Install Free for Windows, Mac, Linux)

5.) Start Duplicati as an Administrator
6.) When creating a backup you will now have Hyper-V options as well as the file system.

See also:

1 Like