Backup to external drive x2 as mirror copies

I am new to Duplicati and fairly new to backing up data – wish to get better at that though.

I wish to make data backups to external drives for local site storage. So I wish to select main drive data folder and all subs and associated files to be backed externally to plug and play drive – however wishing for a mirror of the same backup to be made to a second drive at the same time to account for external drive failure redundancy.

Is there a way of configuring Duplicati to do this without going to a RAIF1 or 10 solution?

And if not - is a RAID software controller solution feasible re ease of setup? I am attempting to keep budget reasonably tight.

Regards
jmck

You use the phrase “second drive”, but I think you mean that the “first drive” is your normal drive with your data, and your “second drive” is the one backup drive. You want data backed up twice onto the second drive? You also said this was a “plug and play” drive, so I’m guessing this drive is something you plug in, then go to Duplicati to back up, then you unplug?

I would just configure two separate Duplicati jobs. Trying to keep them perfectly mirrored as one backup job is tricky. For example, if a file backup to backup spot #1 works but backup spot #2’s backup fails mid-upload, now backup spot #1 is different than backup spot #2. Now you don’t just have a backup problem, you have a replication/syncing problem. That’s a nightmare to have any program try to solve in a single backup job. For that reason, two separate Duplicati jobs are the best option.

If you are plugging in the drive, backing up, then unplugging, then you could configure Duplicati to run a script when the first backup completes. Upon backup completion, have a script sync all files from your first backup to the second backup.