Backup opened remote files

Hello everyone. I have recently installed a Debian machine with duplicati. This PC will be a dedicated Backup server. In another location in the LAN I have a Debian Samba server to store files that many people in the company use.

My idea is to use the Dedicated Duplicati server to backup the files in the Samba Server, but many times users leave documents open, and i need to make sure that duplicati can backup those open files over the network. Is that possible? Is there something i need to look at in any of those servers?

Thank you very much in advance.

Hi @Joel and welcome to the forum.

TL;DR It depends, YMMV, and I’ll discuss. This might come down to identifying critical examples for testing.

This is an interesting question but possibly has no clear answer. Some locking schemes may use file-level locking, while others might instead use something simple like file presence without actual file-level locking.

Snapshot schemes such as Windows VSS can bypass file-level locking, but still can’t promise consistency between all the pieces an application uses (without app help). Especially if the server backup takes awhile, recommendations sometimes go towards taking a block-level snapshot in order to maximimize consistency.

You could try searching this forum for other talk about open file backup (there’s a lot around the Internet), however running remote over SMB is said to change locking behavior from what one might observe locally.

Local behavior (and likely other advantages) could be obtained by running Duplicati on the source server. Although I assume you don’t have any VPN issues, you can see what @Pectojin generally advises here.

The sort of file might also make a difference, e.g. a database somehow backed up while open might need additional recovery work (or not recover…) when restored, while a word processor might tolerate it better.