A WebException with status RequestCanceled was thrown

I’ve been using Duplicati without issue for a couple years now. Until recently it’s been running nightly backups, flawlessly, in a dedicated vm.

About 4 weeks ago, shortly after upgrading to 2.0.7.103_canary_2024-04-19 (don’t know if there is a correlation), Duplicati started failing once a week, with a rather generic request canceled error.

The day it first failed, manually re-running the backup would produce the same error. However, the next day, the error was gone and Duplicati was running fine again.

The next Saturday morning, boom same error, but the next day all was fine.

Today, Duplicati just failed two days in a row. OK, so now I need to take a closer look at the problem.

To troubleshoot, I’ve done the following, which all succeeds:

• Repair
  • Verify
  • Compact

Back when the error first occurred, I had previously increased http-operation-timeout and http-readwrite-timeout to 1 hour each.

Here is what seems to be the relevant part of the error message. Full log can be viewed here.

2024-06-01 23:28:09 -05 - [Information-Duplicati.Library.Main.BasicResults-BackendEvent]: Backend event: Put - Started: duplicati-bc9d53dd22d98468e8eb1d8166805912d.dblock.zip.aes (49.95 MB)
2024-06-01 23:29:09 -05 - [Retry-Duplicati.Library.Main.Operation.Backup.BackendUploader-RetryPut]: Operation Put with file duplicati-b9a7caf6319434f439a78652bdf5fcd1c.dblock.zip.aes attempt 11 of 11 failed with message: A WebException with status RequestCanceled was thrown.
Amazon.Runtime.AmazonServiceException: A WebException with status RequestCanceled was thrown. ---> System.Net.WebException: The request was aborted: The request was canceled.

I am using iDriveE2, which uses Amazon S3 backend. It seems the backend storage decides it isn’t going to accept the upload.

I just lowered asynchronous-concurrent-upload-limit down to 3. Time will tell if this helps.

I’d appreciate any other suggestions.

UPDATE: