Client-side agent and centralized management / dashboard

Hello,

First, I’d like to say, I like your product a lot! You’ve done GREAT job with client-side backup system which supports EVERYTHING a user needs. What I mostly like, is that you can use hell a lot different destinations, I personally use Amazon S3, but also OneDrive, several NAS, FTP etc.

What this product is lacking - centralized management. I’m thinking of creating one.

Since I’m not a pro-coder, I will not know all the specifics and nowadays “correct” methods of dealing something, but I am capable of programming and generating solutions.

First, centralized management needs client-side agent which communicates with central server (web-server probably, easiest to host and also probably to manage).
I have not decided which program language I should use for client-side agent. I do not want to make that mistake that it’s not possible to release client to Linux as well (I am a Windows man) and therefore I’d like your suggestion. Which programming language should I use in order to program language on Windows, but in future for Linux and other OSes as well? Something universal probably, not sure yet.

For client I thought:

• Client does all the “on demand” communications, which means client communicates with central server, not other way. Why? Because of port-forwarding. I do not want to forward any ports and therefore client opens all the connections and server just answers.
  • Since I’ve never done it before, I do not know communication “standards”, but I’m capable of learning. I thought of JSON API on the server side and client-agent asks all the commands from server.
  • Commands are straight forward - client-agent just asks for commands and delivers them to Duplicati REST API. Client-agent does not consist of any commands other than authentication (I guess every API needs somekind of authentication).

So, basically, process is like that:

1. Client1 client-agent asks server for commands;