What happens when I change information?


#1

So if I have a file structure such as FOLDER1/FOLDER2/FOLDER3 and then Duplicati backs up the data. If later I go into my system and change the name of FOLDER1 to like FOLDERX or whatever, will Duplicati start a whole NEW backup process?

I have some folder structure changes I want to make, but my upload speed is incredibly slow, I would hate to have Duplicati start the backup process all over because of some name changes.

Thanks for any help!


#2

Hello @dsunraid and welcome to the forum!

It won’t be uploaded, but the old location will be seen as deleted, so consider your “Backup retention” plans.

Changed file paths after migration to new PC has a long discussion of the successes and potential hazards.