Newbie questions : windows

Hi all,

I’m new to Duplicati and to backup in general. Due to ransomware infection last summer which caused real disaster (over 2 TB home photos and videos lost), I begun to look for a solution… and finally found Duplicati a few days ago. I began to test it : it works flawlessly !

Then the first thing is a very big thanks to the developpers who give time for stupid users like me !

I’m using sharepoint libraries to save data. For some reasons I don’t know, I can’t connect to my account with Duplicati with the sharepoint v2 feature, it works fine with the basic feature.

I find that initial backups take a very large amount of time : speed is only about 5 MB/s and my internet bandwidth allows much more. Speed doesn’t seem to be limited by processor speed (the same with a 10 years old intel quad core ad with a quite new i7 processor. The sharepoint host seems to accept much faster connections, as I get the same speed on each computer when backing up two different machines simultaneously.

First question : is there a way to optimise upload speed ?

Second, I saved my backup tasks in files. What if I use them on another computer ? Or on the same conputer after reinstalling OS due to crash ? I guess I should change path letters of source folders when changing computer… Is that all the changes that need to be done ?

Thanks again for this great software and for taking time to answer such newbie questions.

Jean-Christophe

PS : I’m using Duplicati 2.0.4.5_beta_2018-11-28

Hi @Jean-Christophe_Kehr, welcome to the forum!

First answer:
Yes, there usually are ways to optimize speed but they vary depending on system setup and what part you are trying to optimize. Note that the initial backup is almost always “slow” and subsequent ones should happen much faster.