Does duplicati work?

Without giving me any abuse or backlash, this is a seriously question. Does this work and are their people actually using this without any issue at all?

All I am having is nonstop errors and issues. It does not work at all for me.

Spent 12 hours backing up a terabyte to the wrong location.

I am fighting to stop it

I am fighting to delete what it backed up

I am fighting to even delete the backup

Nonstop errors, literally. The errors will not stop.

I think this program needs to go back to the drawing board

Many people use it with few or no issues. Some people do have issues of course, and that’s what most activity on this forum is for (support issues).

I’ve been using it since 2017 on 10+ machines with great success. (By the way I’m not a main developer or anything, just a fan and a volunteer on this forum.)

We can try to help with your issues. What type of system did you install Duplicati on? What back end are you using (where are you saving your backup data)?

If your intent is to protect 1TB with a single backup job, then there is an important setting that should be adjusted: the deduplication block size (which defaults to 100KB). For a 1TB data set I’d probably set it to 1MB. This setting must be done before the first backup. There may be other suggested settings changes depending on what back end you’re using, but for the most part I’d leave other advanced settings alone.

So I should not be getting error after error? First backup ever, got stuck on the duplicati file in appfolder. Now It keeps giving error and all I do is delete the entire backup job and repeat, get error. Been months and I have yet to make one successful backup.

No idea how you are using it on 10+ machines when I can not even get one installed correctly

Yeah it don’t work. It said it deleted the old files, never did and I just deleted the backup and won’t even start, just gives error after error

And now I can not delete the files duplicati made